Resource Efficient Processes

KreislaufKIT | ITC | Markus Oberacker 2022

We design processes for a circular economy in the minerals industry to recycle primary and secondary raw materials. Such matter is predominantly used in construction, implying large quantities and the opportunity for quality recycling, at best as a new binder substituting cement.

There are two important and recurring topics:

a) synthesis processes are always connected to huge CO2 emissions because of the calcium involved and

b) recycling of e.g. concrete from demolition or mixed construction waste is in many cases actually downcycling as sub-construction of roads and disposal sites or mine backfilling - and not for re-introduction into production.

Crushed fines of concrete or production wastes are waste fractions with low grade...

...usage or even none at all. We design energy and material efficient processes and collaborate intensively with companies of waste processing, production, and application to use these materials for the replacement of primary resources for cement oder construction materials.

Ressourceneffiziente Verfahren

KreislaufKIT | ITC | Markus Oberacker 2022

Wir entwickeln Verfahren zur Kreislaufführung mineralischer Roh- und Reststoffe, vor allem im Bausektor. Hier werden große Stoffmengen umgesetzt und bei Eignung der Sekundärstoffe ist ein hochwertiges Recycling möglich - am besten zu Recyclingbindemitteln als Zementersatz.

Zwei Aspekte sind hier wichtig und treten immer wieder auf:

a) aufgrund der eingesetzten chemischen Elemente, hier Calcium, werden in den Herstellprozessen erhebliche Mengen Kohlendioxid freigesetzt und

b) die Recyclingquoten, z.B. für Betonabbruch und Baumischabfälle, sind zwar hoch – zum größten Teil aber durch Downcycling als Unterbaumaterial für Straßen und Deponien oder zum Verfüllen in Bergwerken und nicht durch Rohstoffrückführung in die Produktion.

Unser Ziel ist es, bislang minderwertig oder gar nicht genutzte Abfallströme wie z.B. Produktionsabfälle oder Feinbrechsande, in der Baustoff-und Bindemittelproduktion als Rohstoffsubstitut einzusetzen. Dazu entwickeln wir energie- und materialeffiziente Prozesse und arbeiten in Projekten eng mit Aufbereitungsfirmen, Herstellern und Anwendern zusammen.