Pyrolysis

GrafikKIT Markus Oberacker

In the context of creating a comprehensive circular economy to protect the climate, the environment and natural resources, sustainable recycling routes are required for all plastic waste. To close the carbon cycle, the established mechanical recycling processes must therefore be supplemented by chemical recycling.

Pyrolysis is one of the chemical recycling processes that convert biogenic waste and plastic waste into gaseous, liquid and solid products in an inert atmosphere and at elevated temperatures. The process can be utilized to replace fossil petrochemical feedstocks.

The ITC Pyrolysis Working Group is investigating the thermal degradation of mixed plastic waste. Among other things, screw pyrolysis with moderate heating rates on a pilot plant scale and specific laboratory experiments are used. The goals are to provide real waste data for modeling, simulation, and process development and evaluation. Current research focuses on temperature-stepped pyrolysis, targeted removal of impurities and optimization of process parameters. Therefore, high product yields can be obtained and the main and by-product quality can be modified.

Projects and industrial partners

Arcus LogoArcus Greencycling Technologies GmbH
Development of a screw pyrolysis technology for mixed plastic waste

Styx KIT
Pyrolysis pilot plant
Stellenangebote KIT
Job offers

Job offers and student theses

link

Pyrolyse

GrafikKIT Markus Oberacker

Im Kontext der Schaffung einer umfassenden Kreislaufwirtschaft zum Schutze des Klimas, der Umwelt und der natürlichen Ressourcen sind nachhaltige Verwertungswege für alle Kunststoffabfälle erforderlich. Zur Schließung des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs müssen daher die etablierten mechanischen Recyclingverfahren um das chemische Recycling ergänzt werden.

Bei der Pyrolyse, welche zu den chemischen Recyclingverfahren gehört, werden biogene Abfälle und Kunststoffabfälle in inerter Atmosphäre und bei erhöhter Temperatur in gasförmige, flüssige und feste Produkte umgesetzt, um fossile petrochemische Rohstoffe zu ersetzen.

In der ITC-Arbeitsgruppe Pyrolyse wird der thermische Abbau gemischter Kunststoffabfälle untersucht. Dabei kommen unter anderem die Schneckenpyrolyse mit moderaten Aufheizraten im Technikumsmaßstab und spezifische Laborexperimente zum Einsatz. Ziele sind die Bereitstellung von Daten für reale Abfälle zur Modellbildung und Simulation und die Verfahrensentwicklung und Prozessbewertung. Aktuelle Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die temperaturgestufte Pyrolyse, die gezielte Ausschleusung von Störstoffen und die Optimierung der Prozessparameter zur Gewinnung hoher  Produktausbeuten und zur Einstellung der Haupt- und Nebenproduktqualität.

Projekte und Industriepartner

Arcus LogoArcus Greencycling Technologies GmbH
Entwicklung einer Schneckenpyrolyse-Technologie für gemischte Kunststoffabfälle

Styx KIT
Pyrolyse-Technikum
Stellenangebote KIT
Stellen-
angebote

Stellenangebote und studentische Abschlussarbeiten

link